Canadian Centre for Accreditation

Employee Assistance Programs

The Canadian Centre for Accreditation supports family service agencies that are providers of employee assistance services to meet new challenges and excel through standards that reflect best practices in community-based operations, services and programs.

Accreditation with CCA positions agencies that offer EAP — whether as a Master Contract Holder or as a service provider — to keep pace with accountability expectations and lead when it comes to service quality.

The Right Fit

Who should choose this program?

CCA accreditation for EAP is geared to family service organizations that provide employee assistance services, whether as Master Contract Holders or as a service providers.

For more information on Family Services click here.


Organizations are asked to meet a common set of Organizational Standards, as well as standards specific to their employee assistance service provision and contract management.

The Organizational Standards look at the whole agency, and cover things like governance, management, planning, quality improvement, and important risk management functions. The standards also look for person-centred services, a strength-based approach, accessibility of services, and engagement and responsiveness to the communities served.

Standards specific to employee assistance service provision assess areas such as service planning, provision of critical incident/trauma interventions, orientation and education of clients’ personnel, staffing levels and support for staff providing EAP services, record keeping and handling client complaints.

Master Contract Holders will also find standards on service and program design, financial arrangements, reporting and other obligations, organizational assessment, resolution of issues, and ongoing promotion.

Engagement of Sector

CCA standards are developed with the input of sector leaders through our evaluation surveys, advisory groups, critical readers and pilot reviews. The development process also includes reviews of relevant research literature and emerging sector issues. CCA’s EAP Standards   originated from the Canadian Family Service Accreditation Program standards and have since been revised.

Choosing the program

Organizations that offer family counselling and groups along with EAP are also expected to meet the requirements of CCA’s standards for family counselling and group services.

Contact CCA for more information.